• Neighborhood Reads

Our Staff's Favorite Books of the Year

This week we are taking a break from our weekly book review to share our staff’s favorite books of the year. While the majority of the titles chosen were published during 2021, there are a few titles from years past. All of the titles listed below are available at Neighborhood Reads. Maybe one of them will become your favorite as well! Happy Reading!



From the number-one bestselling author of The Nightingale and The Great Alone comes a powerful American epic about love and heroism and hope, set during the Great Depression, a time when the country was in crisis and at war with itself, when millions were out of work and even the land seemed to have turned against them. Buy the book!




From the author of The Martian, a lone astronaut must save the earth from disaster in this “propulsive” (Entertainment Weekly), cinematic thriller full of suspense, humor, and fascinating science—in development as a major motion picture starring Ryan Gosling.

Buy the book!



From the New York Times bestselling author of Girl in Pieces comes a stunning novel that Vanity Fair calls “impossibly moving” and “suffused with light.” In this raw, deeply personal story, a teenage girl struggles to find herself amidst the fallout of her brother's addiction in a town ravaged by the opioid crisis.

Buy the book!


The bestselling author of A Gentleman in Moscow and Rules of Civility and master of absorbing, sophisticated fiction returns with a stylish and propulsive novel set in 1950s America.

Buy the book!






Fans will love to return to this deliciously funny, delectably shocking banquet of wild-but-true tales of life in the culinary trade from Chef Anthony Bourdain, laying out his more than a quarter-century of drugs, sex, and haute cuisine—this time with never-before-published material. Buy the book!




France, 1714: in a moment of desperation, a young woman makes a Faustian bargain to live forever—and is cursed to be forgotten by everyone she meets. Buy the book!







A “remarkable” (Los Angeles Times), “seductive” (The Wall Street Journal) debut from the new co-host of Radiolab, Why Fish Don’t Exist is a dark and astonishing tale of love, chaos, scientific obsession, and—possibly—even murder.​ Buy the book!







With four starred reviews, Angeline Boulley's debut novel, Firekeeper's Daughter, is a groundbreaking YA thriller about a Native teen who must root out the corruption in her community, perfect for readers of Angie Thomas and Tommy Orange.

Buy the book!


Stunning, diorama illustrations bring to life this picture book about celebrating everyday things that make life wonderful. When the first snow falls, a little girl writes down the things she’s thankful for on strips of paper and links them together. As one idea leads to another, her chain grows longer. This beautiful story is a much-needed reminder to observe and honor life’s small joys.

Buy the book!


Maas's sexy, richly imagined series continues with the journey of Feyre's fiery sister, Nesta. Against the sweeping backdrop of a world seared by war and plagued with uncertainty, Nesta and Cassian battle monsters from within and without as they search for acceptance-and healing-in each other's arms.

Buy the book!


134 views0 comments