top of page
  • Writer's picturecstucky2

"The Serpent and the Wings of Night" | Reviewed by Val Jankowski

“The Serpent and the Wings of Night” by Carissa Broadbent is a perfect book for fans of the romantasy genre that is growing more and more popular among readers. Romantasy has been defined many different ways but at its core it is a story which blends elements of the fantasy and romance genres.

In “The Serpent and the Wings of Night”, Broadbent adds her own twist to this genre mashup by introducing adult readers to a fantasy world of vampires fighting each other for control of their world and adding in a steamy romance between two characters who have every reason not to be together.

Oraya is our narrator and the adopted human daughter of Victor, the vampire king. Victor found her at the age of seven in a destroyed village, taking her as his own, and raising her in his palace. Growing up, Oraya is all too aware of the danger she is in as she keeps company with those who depend on human blood—her blood—for their existence.

Oraya hopes to secure her place with Victor by winning a once-in-a-century tournament called the Kejari which can have only one survivor. Her plans don’t include meeting Raihn, a vampire who also is competing in the Kejari. Raihn seems intent on helping Oraya in the tournament but she is suspicious of any vampire, no matter how attracted she is to him. 

One of the main challenges authors of fantasy face is world-building. Broadbent does a good job acclimating her readers to this fantasy world full of rival vampire houses and the powers they may (or may not) possess. It also doesn’t hurt that Broadbent includes a glossary and map for readers to refer to as needed.

Ultimately, “The Serpent and the Wings of Night” provides adult readers with a steamy romance along with an action-packed plot. Fans of Sarah J. Maas, Jennifer L. Armentrout, and Rebecca Yarros will devour this first book of a planned 6-book series.



 

17 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page